Weekend Round Up

Guess what? It is almost the weekend again. How time flies when the weather is nice.

Thursday: Talib Kweli. Asylum. 9PM.

I know, I’m a white girl from Maine but I have to admit that I do enjoy some solid hip-hop now and again. Along with Atmosphere and Kanye, Talib has always been one of my favorites. I can appreciate some creative lyricism and fresh beats (yeah, I said it). Unless of course you’re sitting outside with a local microbrew soaking in the last of summer. I don’t blame you if it is the latter.

609Talib_Kweli

Thursday: Browne Trading Company. Sake & Sushi. 5PM. Free.

Thursday was so chock full of fun I had to make two events! Browne Trading is holding their annual sake and sushi tasting. If you don’t know much about sake let the trained professionals at Browne educate you. Then you can impress all your friends at your next sushi outing. Chef Ando of Benkay will be preparing fresh sushi on site, how great is that?

wineroom190h

Saturday: Machigonne Music Festival. Maine State Pier. 5PM.

The Maine State Pier was an unbelievable venue earlier this month for Guster so I’m excited to see another show down there. This time it will be hometown hero Ray LaMontagne who sold out his Merrill Auditorium show in record time. He will also be joined by Rustic Overtones, who always put on a superb live show. The one downside to being on the pier…Tropical Storm Danny. Keep an eye on the weather.

main_banner

Leave a Reply

